Pirata, Cebu lead National Bangkarera winners

Team Pirata and Cebu led the winners in the 4th Pioneer National Bangkarera recently at the St. Francis, Ocean Park and Baywalk in Naga City, Cebu.

Pirata reclaimed the title in the 16-horsepower category while Cebuanos clinched the Angat sa Dagat crown, which they used to own in 2017.
Meanwhile, Bacolod City captured the 7-horse power category even as Team Nino of Capiz won the Paddle Boat Division.

“We are very happy on how these guys patronized the competition. The story of these guys is fantastic. Some travel for three days just to join the competition, it’s not easy for them to get here and the wonderful thing about it is when we ask them why did you come, is it because of the price money? And their answer is sir we like the competition, we love to show our skills against the other boaters,” said John Spakowski II, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Pioneer Adhesives Inc.

The biggest boat-racing event in the country, held in cooperation with Angat sa Dagat Organization, aims to promote camaraderie among the fisherfolk, boat-racing aficionados and the community.

With over P1 million in cash and product prizes, boatmen from around the Philippines are giddy in anticipation of the year’s biggest boating spectacle.

Pioneer Epoxy began the bangkarera four years ago in Puerto Princesa, with over a hundred participants from 27 teams and 60 boats. The following year in 2017 in Dumaguete City, the roster of participants grew to 40 teams and 96 boats.

Last year’s PENB in Iloilo City recorded the largest number of participants with 58 teams and 155 boats.

This season, 150 boats and 36 teams joined—still a high number—which is a proof of its staying power and necessity in the boating community.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top